Nottingham and Coles take Welsh title
Date: 12/2/2013 10:37 AM
Published by : Manuel Røsler
Day 4 of the Yonex Welsh International Badminton Championships means only one thing - semi-finals and finals day and what a treat they turned out to be!

Kicking off the semi-finals was the mixed doubles between Anders Skaarup Rasmussen and Lena Grebak (DEN) and Vitalij Durkin and Nina Vislova (RUS) with the latter booking their place in the final winning the semi 21-16, 21-14. In the other mixed semi-final No1 seeds Chris Langridge and Heather Olver (ENG) kept up their winning form beating Ben Stawski and Alexandra Langley 21-12, 21-17.

In the men’s singles, Rhys Walker (ENG) couldn’t replicate his previous day’s success losing to 8th seed Flemming Quach (DEN) 21-15, 21-11. The second semi-final saw Pablo Abian (ESP) produce an excellent comeback after losing the first game to Christian Lind 21-6, winning the next two games 21-18, 21-9.

Robin Middleton and Ross Smith (AUS) maintained their winning streak beating Niclas Nohr and Nikolaj Overgaard (DEN) in their semi-final 21-14, 21-17 whilst No.3 seeds Christopher Coles and Matthew Nottingham also secured their place in the final beating Scotland’s Martin Campbell and Patrick MacHugh 21-18, 21-14.

In the women’s singles semi-finals No.3 seed Kristina Gavnholt (CZE) found USA’s Beiwen Zhang’s challenge too difficult with Zhang winning the encounter 21-17, 23-21. Meanwhile, No 1 seed Beatriz Corrales (ESP) moved comfortably through to the final beating 4th seed Natalia Perminova (RUS) 21-12, 21-14.

He Tian Tang and Renuga Veeran (AUS) claimed their finals place beating Scotland’s Imogen Bankier and Kirsty Gilmour in two sets 21-17, 21-14. In the longest match of the semi-finals at I hour and 6 minutes, Keshya Nurvita Hanadia and Devi Tika Permatasari  (INA) beat Russian duo Anastasia Chervaykova and Nina Vislova in a close 3 setter 21-18, 16-21, 21-15.

Onto the finals…

In the women’s singles, No1 seed Beatriz Corrales fell at the final hurdle, losing to unseeded Beiwen Zhang (USA) in 2 sets 21-12, 21-15.
Last year’s runners-up Chris Langridge and Heather Olver (ENG) went one step better at this year’s Championships taking the title after a 3 set battle against Vitalij Durkin and Nina Vislova (RUS) 21-17, 10-21, 21-13.
The 2010 Yonex Welsh International men’s singles Champion Pablo Abian regained his title at this year’s tournament beating Denmark’s Flemming Quach 21-12, 21-13.

In the women’s doubles He Tian Tang and Renuga Veeran (AUS) proved too strong for Keshya Nurvita Hanadia and Devi Tika Permatasari  (INA) winning the final in 2 sets 21-15 21-12.

Last but not least was the men’s doubles final. Christopher Coles and Matthew Nottingham managed to go one place further at this year’s event claiming the title after a well fought encounter beating Robin Middleton and Ross Smith (AUS) 21-17, 21-15.

The Yonex Welsh International has been an exciting tournament and Badminton Wales would like to thank all the players, officials and volunteers for helping to make the Championships such an excellent event.
See you next year…

Click here for all results from the Yonex Welsh International.
Check out our Facebook page for a photo gallery from Cardiff.

Article and photo by Laura Cairns.
© All rights reserved.

Related news
Happy anniversary, Switzerland!
Badminton Europe Confederation...

Dr. Puzant Kassabian - a true badminton pioneer
Bulgarian badminton and his ma...

An defends title
KFF Singapore Badminton Open f...

Axelsen’s ankle woes
Many top-ranked players and pa...

Top stars to battle it out in Singapore
As the pre-Olympic Games seaso...

2024 BEC Awards Gala celebrates badminton stars
The 2024 BEC Congress conclude...

More news