Previous champion Denmark. Credit: BWF / Badmintonphoto by Yohan Nonotte
Poland to host EMWTC 2024
Date: 7/20/2023 3:06 PM
Published by : Thomas Fuchs (BEC)
The city of Łódź in Poland will be hosting the 2024 European Men’s and Women’s Team Championships. The draw for the qualification stage of the event will be held next Monday, 24 July, and will be streamed live on

The EMWTC is one of the biggest events in European badminton with 30 teams entering each the women’s and men’s competition. With Denmark (previous winner) and Poland (host) already qualified for the final stage, we will see 28 teams participating in the qualification. 

Those 28 teams will be divided into six groups during the live draw on Monday, July 24. Only the winners of each group will qualify for the final stage in Łódź joining host Poland and previous winner Denmark. The draws will be streamed live on starting with the draw for the women’s event at 1:00pm CET followed by the men’s draw at 3:00pm CET. 

The qualification stage will take place in week 49 in 2023 in six different countries. The final stage with eight teams will take place from 14 to 18 February 2024 in the Sports Bay of Łódź Technical University in Łódź, Poland. 

“The teams participating in the European Men’s and Women’s Team Championships can expect an amazing tournament with fantastic sports atmosphere, while fans can look forward to spectacular matches at the highest level and the renowned Polish hospitality. We are sure organizing such a prestigious event will attract many badminton enthusiasts not only from Poland but also from Europe“, said Marek Krajewski, President of the Polish Badminton Association. 

BEC President, Sven Serré, is pleased to see Poland come forward as host of the prestigious event: “Poland has proven to be an amazing host just recently during the European Games 2023 and we are really looking forward to visit the beautiful city of Łódź for this outstanding event that will feature the best players of our continent.”  

List of participating teams (incl. seeding for the qualification stage):  

Men’s event: 
Poland, Denmark, France (1), Germany (2), England (3), Netherlands (4), Scotland (5), Czech Republic (6), Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Estonia, Finland, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Malta, Norway, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine.

Women’s event: 
Poland, Denmark, Spain (1), Germany (2), France (3), Scotland (4), Bulgaria (5), Netherlands (6), Azerbaijan, Belgium, Czech Republic, England, Estonia, Finland, Greenland, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Latvia, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Türkiye, Ukraine

Watch the draws on Monday, 24 July, live here.
Women’s draw: 1:00pm CET
Men’s draw: 3:00 pm CET
© All rights reserved.

Related news
4 Nations, last stop before Paris 2024
The 4 Nations Para Badminton...

Happy anniversary, Switzerland!
Badminton Europe Confederation...

Dr. Puzant Kassabian - a true badminton pioneer
Bulgarian badminton and his ma...

An defends title
KFF Singapore Badminton Open f...

Axelsen’s ankle woes
Many top-ranked players and pa...

Top stars to battle it out in Singapore
As the pre-Olympic Games seaso...

More news