Nguyen hoping to bring back medal to Ireland (Photo: Badminton Photo)
The groups are under way in Buenos Aires
Date: 10/9/2018 1:59 AM
Published by : Alan Raftery
The third Summer Youth Olympic Games has commenced in Buenos Aires, Argentina. It is the first games to be held outside of Asia and will feature 241 events in 32 sports. 

The Badminton will be held from the 7th to 12th October, at the Tecnópolis, an exhibition space which is the largest of its kind in Latin America. A total of 32 athletes will participate in each gender, Boy’s Singles and Girl’s Singles. There is also a Mixed team event where all athletes are combined in eight different teams competing against each other in two groups of four, followed by a knock-out. 

Similarly, in the singles events, there are eight groups of four, with the winners advancing to a knock-out stage. After 3 days of group matches, all players have played 2 matches, with one remaining. All seeded players in the Boy’s Singles are all looking set to advance to the final eight. 

Two seeds fall short in the groups
In contrast, looking at the Girl’s Singles, a few surprises have cropped up. In Group E, 8th seed from the Czech Republic was comfortably dispatched by Singaporean Jaslyn Hooi Yue Yann. Who then in turn was defeated by United Kingdom’s Grace King in a very entertaining three-game thriller, 21-17, 6-21, 24-22. With this King picked up a second win, putting her in the prime spot to advance to the quarter-finals. 

Group F sprung another surprise with the 4th seed from India Jakka Vaishnavi Reddy losing out to America’s Jennie Gai, who remained composed when closing out a 21-18, 23-21 win, all but securing her advancement to the quarter-finals. 

Here are the full seedings:

Boy’s Singles
1. Kunlavut Vitidsarn (THA)
2. Kodai Naraoka (JPN)
3. Nhat Nguyen (IRE)
4. Lakshya Sen (IND)
5. Li Shifeng (CHN)
6. Ikhsan Leonardo Imanu Rumbay (INA)
7. Arnaud-Sylvain-Andre Merkle (FRA)
8. Chen Shiaucheng (TPE)

Girl’s Singles
1. Phittayaporn Chaiwan (THA)
2. Wang Zhiyi (CHN)
3. Goh Jin Wei (MAS)
4. Jakka Vaishnavi Reddy (IND)
5. Maria Delcheva (BUL)
6. Huang Yinhsuan (TPE)
7. Vivien Sandorhazi (HUN)
8. Tereza Svabikova (CZE)

For the full fixtures and results, click here.

© All rights reserved.

Related news
Prepared and ready
The first BWF Super tournamen...

Top ranked players in EMTC
With the European Mixed Team C...

New CTC in Hungary
Badminton Europe has certifica...

Kim Astrup out of Danish Nationals with injury
The defending Danish champion...

- We feel quite satisfied with the CoE
Last week, members of the Rus...

Lauren Smith's seventh consecutive Nationals win!
Several European Member Assoc...

More news