Christinna Pedersen and Mathias Christiansen | BadmintonPhoto
Maiden victory for Christiansen/Pedersen
Date: 2/4/2018 9:18 AM
Published by : Manuel Røsler
Denmark’s Mathias Christiansen and Christinna Pedersen secured their first World Tour title as they saw off Praveen Jordan and Melati Daeva Oktavianti of Indonesia in two games 21-14, 21-15 to win the India Open (350.000 Dollars) crown in New Delhi.

The Danes, who had lost in their two previous Superseries final appearances - at the China and Yonex Hong Kong Open in 2017- won the match in just 37 minutes.

Denmark national coach Thomas Stavngaard said:

„I am really happy for them. The victory in India means a lot to us. Christinna and Mathias played very well. Mathias was very sharp today, he took control of the match.“

The new India Open champions earned a total prize money of 27.650 dollars.

Astrup/Skaarup Rasmussen lost to the world’s best duo

Denmark’s Kim Astrup and Anders Skaarup Rasmussen, the current Yonex German Open, Yonex Swiss Open and Bitburger Open champions, finished runner-up as they were beaten by in-form Marcus Gideon/Kevin Sukamuljo of Indonesia in two games (14-21, 16-21).

„They played the world’s best men’s duo. And the Indonesians were just better today. Kevin Sukamuljo is an unbelievable strong badminton player. Despite the defeat, it has been a successful tournament for Kim and Anders“, said former world class player Thomas Stavngaard to

Shi Yuqi became the first Chinese player to win the India Open men's singles title, defeating Taiwan shuttler Chou Tien Chen. Fourth-seed Shi overcame tough resistence from Chou, seeded third, to win the battle 21-18, 21-14 in 47 minutes.

In the women's singles final, Beiwen Zhang (USA) won a hard-fought clash against top-seed PV Sindhu of India 21-18, 11-21, 22-20 in one hour and nine minutes.

Indonesia ruled in the women's doubles as well, with Greysia Polii and Apriani Rahayu defeating Thailand's Jongkolphan Kititharakul and Rawinda Prajongjai 21-18, 21-15.

Check out full results of India Open here.

The finals results:

MS: Shi Yuqi (CHN) - Chou Tien Chen (TPE) 21-18, 21-14
WS: Beiwen Zhang (USA) - PV Sindhu (IND) 21-18, 11-21, 22-20
MD: Marcus Gideon/Kevin Sukamuljo (INA) - Kim Astrup/Anders Skaarup Rasmussen (DEN) 21-14, 21-16
WD: Greysia Polii/Apriyani Rahayu (INA) - Jongkolphan Kititharakul/Rawinda Prajongjai (THA) 21-18, 21-15
XD: Mathias Christiansen/Christinna Pedersen (DEN) - Praveen Jordan/Melat Oktavianti (INA) 21-14, 21-15
© All rights reserved.

Related news
Martina Repiska: It has been the right decision
At an age of 9 years old Marti...

Carl Christian Mork: Playing badminton in Denmark is a bit like skiing in Norway
As we learnt last month, there...

Miranda Wilson: Soldier, musician and badminton talent
Earlier this year at the Europ...

- We are losing a big personality
Badminton Europe President, Pe...

Anne Tran: I found my motivation again
The French doubles player, Ann...

EOC mourns death of President Kocijančič
The European Olympic Committee...

More news